CREATORS

SAN­DRO ZOL­LIN­GER
Writer & Director

Born 1975 in Arosa, studied film and media sciences in Berlin, Germany. Since 2004 he has been working as an independent writer and filmmaker. He is the co-founder of Montezuma Film. His multiple award-winning work explores innovative ways of storytelling and always seeks to adopt new perspectives.

RO­MAN VI­TAL
Director & Editor

Born 1975 in Arosa, studied film editing and documentary filmmaking at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Mannheim, Germany. Since 2006, he has been working as an independent producer, director and film editor in Zurich. He is the co-founder of Montezuma Film. His multiple award-winning work is committed to examining social issues.

KLAUS MERZ
Writer original story

He is one of the most prominent, prolific, and versatile Swiss writers working today, with more than 30 publications under his belt. Since his debut in 1967 his work has been translated into several languages. He received many important literary awards, such as the Hermann Hesse Prize for Literature.

IN­TER­VIEW

07. Janu­ary 2020

It’s not easy to pin down your VR project “GO”. Is it a visually enhanced audiobook? Or a literary film adaptation?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: To be honest, we haven’t quite found the right label yet either. From a technical perspective, it’s obviously a 360° film. But its artistic form rather points to something entirely unique that hasn’t yet been done in this way – as far as we know.
Our goal was to find a sort of natural symbiosis between literature and virtual reality. In nature, two independent species will co-exist for their mutual benefit. Here, this close relationship developed into a literary VR experience, or perhaps a virtual reading.

Where did the idea for this project come from?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Well, in principle, we’re interested in telling a story that is ambiguous as well as challenging – a story that resonates. Ever since the emergence of VR, we’ve been searching for a way to tell stories in this medium.
But there’s a fundamental difference to the way you tell a story in film: In VR, the audience hijacks a part of the director’s work because they can look anywhere they want and choose their own framing. However, when I, as a director, tell a story I want to be in control. I want the audience to see what’s important. With VR, I have to guide the audience’s attention towards the story, so to speak. So in a way I’ve got to wave like a tour guide on one of those city tour buses: “Please look this way, this is where the story is.”
That’s how the idea was born to tell the story primarily with words in the form of a literary reading and to use VR to depict atmosphere and feelings.

Tell us, what happens in “GO”?

Ro­man Vi­tal: “GO” is the story of a man who sets out on his own to go hiking in the Swiss mountains and has an accident in a snowstorm. His approaching demise makes him reflect life and death. Essentially, it’s about mortality, saying goodbye and finding peace.
And precisely because the story is told from the viewpoint of looming death, life appears in a different light. It becomes precious and at the same time it’s put into perspective in an almost liberating way.

In the German version, you’ve kept the title of the story by Klaus Merz. In German, “LOS” has different meanings – as a noun it can mean fate or destiny, while as an adverb it is a call to go, to leave. How do you interpret it?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Of course with the translation, we had to make a decision. For me, the meaning of departure was dominant, so we opted for a similar mono-syllabic title with “GO”. Ready, steady, go. Now, your life becomes meaningful, make it count! But there’s also a subliminal sense of letting go.

Ro­man Vi­tal: For me, the title invokes fate, liberation and acceptance.

The story follows the protagonist into the mountains. What part do the Alps play for the Swiss identity?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: For the Swiss, you have to understand, the mountains are both a national symbol and a place of longing. Their self-image is shaped by the mountains and life in the mountains, even though most inhabitants live in cities in the lowlands.
And of course, “GO” is also shaped by this idealized notion. Peter Thaler’s trail takes him high into the Alps, and with every subsequent step the collectively remembered mountain imagery resurfaces in his memory. He recalls the obligatory school trips – still a compulsory part of the Swiss school experience today – or “Heidi”, the world-famous children’s story by Johanna Spyri, or indeed of the lyrics of the Swiss national anthem, whose first stanza invokes the red morning glow on the eternal alpine snow fields.

In addition to the mountains, the ocean plays an important role in “GO”. How did this come about?

Ro­man Vi­tal: This element was already implied in the original story and it seemed important to us to set a visual counterweight to the mountains, the location where the plot is set. Just as death is the counterweight to life.
In one passage, Thaler remembers how he only learned to appreciate the mountains while he was diving in the sea. Once he realized that the underwater world was home to a ‘counter-mountainscape’, as he calls it, he had an epiphany: “So even rock is destructible, finite, drifting sand like himself,” to quote Klaus Merz.

Towards the end, after the final words, the story continues beyond its protagonist’s death. How did this impressive sequence come about?

Ro­man Vi­tal: It was clear to us that the story could not simply end with the narrator’s last words – which meant that we had to find a way to represent death. But we also agreed that there could be no visual solution. So instead we focused on approaching this sequence through sound.
After some lengthy deliberations, we decided to use a monochord, an acoustic instrument with several strings all tuned to the same note. When you pluck the strings with your fingers, you get a carpet of sound, a sequence of identical notes, whose sound waves gradually overlap and create random harmonics. These harmonics are perceived very differently: Some people are reminded of wind instruments, others of singing – but they all share the impression of a superior, transcendental harmony. Thus, we had found a way to represent death that seemed to us justified as well as suitable.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: I’m still surprised and also a little proud that we dared to fade into shapeless black for almost one and a half minutes in such a visually powerful medium as VR, while advancing the narrative on the sound level. We took a risk – one of many during the production of “GO”.

How does a 360° shoot work and how is it different from a conventional film shoot?

Ro­man Vi­tal: We recorded simultaneously in all directions with six cameras. The position of the cameras is also the position of the audience in virtual space when they put on the VR set.
A significant difference to filming is that with a 360° shot everything is in the picture. So the Director of Photography and the whole team have to disappear. This was easy to do when shooting in a closed location, such as a room. Place the camera and make everyone leave. But during the snowstorm, for example, we had to disappear by digging ourselves into the snow with shovels.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Another funny anecdote: Some of the underwater shots were done in the Mediterranean in a bay in Greece. I dove down, placed the cameras on the seabed and then quickly swam away in order to exit the picture. When I turned around at safe distance, I realized I couldn’t remember where exactly I had sunk the cameras and from the surface they were no longer visible. So I had no choice but to dive and search. And suddenly that small, cozy bay looked a whole lot bigger. It took about an hour to find the cameras again.

What was the process of shooting like? How long did it take?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Well, it started with the idea and continued well into the editing room. We did some shots over and over again and reconsidered them in interaction with the literary text. And from those insights, we changed scenes again, chose a different camera location or a different shooting location.
For instance, we had shot this fantastic spring scene that we thought was just perfect. But when we did the rough cut, timing that sequence to the text, the mood suddenly seemed far too spring-like to us. We realized we needed more of a late-wintery feel. A picture of the first crocuses breaking through the melting blanket of snow jumped to my mind and so one year later we went back to the mountains and shot a new scene.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: The shooting process was also influenced by the fact that we weren’t able to view the shots on location, as we’re now used to doing in the digital age. The footage from the six cameras first had to be stitched in the computer. This gave the shooting process something of an analogous feel: The scene had wrapped, but you needed to wait until the footage had been processed to see in your VR headset whether it had worked.

What kind of challenges did you encounter in postproduction? And where there any fundamental differences to the editing process?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Stitching – combing the shots seamlessly into one sphere – was pretty time-consuming. It’s a complex workflow with a lot of manual work, often frame by frame.
And indeed, VR editing strikes me as fundamentally different from film editing. With VR, the audience doesn’t experience the image as a projection but rather as a physical presence, and so the perception of space and time is radically different. It is much closer to our actual perception.
In film editing, there are hardly any limits when it comes to time and space. I can easily jump from Paris to London with a hard cut or indeed jump 20 years into the past. It’s completely different in VR because instead of cutting from picture to picture, we cut from room to room.
This was challenging, especially when changing scenes. How do I transport the audience, who is underwater, into the middle of a snowstorm without disrupting their experience? In a way that time and space still seem plausible to them? In order to achieve this, we worked throughout with overlong, transforming crossfades and a sophisticated sound design.

We already talked a bit about the music – acoustic instruments only. But they are only one part of the overall sound design.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Sound design was incredibly important for the immersion in the virtual world to be perceived as real. We worked with Thomas Gassmann, an outstanding sound designer with a wealth of experience in the area of VR sound.
The process for the final sound design worked by exclusion: First we packed in all our ideas and then continuously thinned them out – because less is more, right?
And for the recording of the reading – in German it’s the voice of Klaus Merz himself – it was important to achieve a constant presence, to convey the feeling that somebody is currently reading to you from a book.

What are your next steps?

Ro­man Vi­tal: In January 2020 the world premiere of “GO” will take place at the legendary Sundance Film Festival. And we’re already planning to go on tour afterwards, which will bring the VR experience “GO” to literature festivals, art museums and schools as well as other film festivals.
We’re also in the process of developing a documentary film about the search for truth, based on a true crime story, and are already toying with the idea of giving another literary work the virtual reality treatment.


STATEMENT
Klaus Merz

Stepping into the unchartered audiovisual terrain of Sandro Zollinger and Roman Vital, the images that transcend the enclosure of my own alphabet and imagination are the ones that I find particularly captivating:

The spiral of clouds at the beginning of Thaler’s trip to the mountains involuntarily pull me down into the depths of time, back to the legendary planetary nebulae. Or Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec’s late painting “Deux chevaliers en armure” that feels as if I could physically step into it; submerging myself in the action, I slowly advance along with the riders.

Finally, there’s the delicate quivering of the crocuses in the springtime breeze that gently melts the icy remains of the snow. It invokes new life. And takes an assured step beyond the confines of my literary template.


STATEMENT
Mon­te­zu­ma Film

“GO” skilfully combines literature and virtual reality while delicately tackling a sensitive topic of universal concern. It is a breathtaking author’s reading that encourages the audience to reflect on transience, on life and death, affecting them in an unexpected way.

From the very beginning, we were convinced that VR would be able to offer a novel approach to literature. And we were convinced that by using VR we would succeed in developing a new narrative form that does not focus on the effect as a means in itself, but rather uses the effect to tell a profound story.

A special characteristic of collective VR screenings lies in the fact that while the audience will follow the same story, they do not see or feel the same thing, leading to animated post-screening conversations. And this is exactly what we want to achieve in all of our productions.

“GO” has the potential to appeal to a contrasting and diverse audience: Digital natives and bookworms, nonreaders and VR novices, of any ages and walks of life.

The timeless topic and the fascinating way in which this new medium is used promise a long-term and versatile distribution through various channels (film festivals, VR festivals and literature festivals, art museums and galleries, cultural events, schools and VR roadshows, etc.)

AU­TOREN

SAN­DRO ZOL­LIN­GER
Buch & Regie

Ge­bo­ren 1975 in Aro­sa, stu­dier­te nach sei­ner Aus­bil­dung als Treu­hän­der Film- und Me­di­en­theo­rie in Ber­lin. Seit 2004 ar­bei­tet er als un­ab­hän­gi­ger Film­schaf­fen­der und Au­tor und ist Mit­in­ha­ber von «Mon­te­zu­ma Film». In sei­nen mehr­fach aus­ge­zeich­ne­ten Ar­bei­ten be­schäf­tigt er sich ein­dring­lich mit der Su­che nach in­no­va­ti­ven Er­zähl­for­men und neu­en Perspektiven.

RO­MAN VI­TAL
Re­gie & Montage

Ge­bo­ren 1975 in Aro­sa, stu­dier­te an der Film­aka­de­mie Ba­den-Würt­tem­berg Mon­ta­ge und Do­ku­men­tar­film. Seit 2006 ar­bei­tet er als frei­er Pro­du­zent, Re­gis­seur und Film­edi­tor in Zü­rich. Er ist In­ha­ber von «Mon­te­zu­ma Film». Sei­ne mehr­fach preis­ge­krön­ten Ar­bei­ten set­zen sich nach­drück­lich mit ge­sell­schaft­li­chen The­men auseinander.

KLAUS MERZ
Au­tor «LOS»

Ge­bo­ren 1945 in Aar­au, zählt zu den prä­gen­den Stim­men der deutsch­spra­chi­gen Ge­gen­warts­li­te­ra­tur. Sei­ne Wer­ke wur­den in vie­le Spra­chen über­setzt und mit re­nom­mier­ten Prei­sen im ge­sam­ten deutsch­spra­chi­gen Raum ausgezeichnet.

IN­TER­VIEW

07. Ja­nu­ar 2020

Eu­er Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty Werk «LOS» ist nicht ein­fach zu ver­or­ten. Ist es ein au­dio­vi­su­el­les Hör­buch? Ei­ne Literaturverfilmung?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Ehr­lich ge­sagt fehlt mir auch noch ein wirk­lich grif­fi­ges La­bel. Tech­nisch ge­se­hen ist es klar ein 360° Film. Doch durch die künst­le­ri­sche Aus­drucks­form ent­steht et­was ganz Ei­ge­nes, das so noch nicht um­ge­setzt wur­de.
Un­ser Ziel war es, ei­ne Sym­bio­se zwi­schen Li­te­ra­tur und Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty zu fin­den, wie wir sie aus der Na­tur ken­nen. Ein Zu­sam­men­ge­hen von zwei ei­gen­stän­di­gen Ar­ten zu ih­rem ge­gen­sei­ti­gen Nut­zen. Dar­aus ist ein li­te­ra­ri­sches Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty Er­leb­nis ent­stan­den, wür­de ich sa­gen, oder ei­ne vir­tu­el­le Lesereise.

Wie seid ihr auf die­se Idee gekommen?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Uns geht es im­mer um das Er­zäh­len ei­ner Ge­schich­te, die mehr­deu­tig ist, die her­aus­for­dert, die nach­hallt. Seit dem Auf­tau­chen von Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty ha­ben wir uns da­mit be­schäf­tigt, wie wir in die­sem Me­di­um Ge­schich­ten er­zäh­len kön­nen.
Vom fil­mi­schen Er­zäh­len her ge­se­hen gibt es ei­nen fun­da­men­ta­len Un­ter­schied: In Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty über­nimmt der Zu­schau­er ei­nen Teil der Re­gie. Denn er kann hin­schau­en, wo er will, er wählt sei­nen Bild­aus­schnitt selbst. Beim Er­zäh­len will ich, als Re­gis­seur aber die Kon­trol­le. Ich will, dass das für die Ge­schich­te Wich­ti­ge ge­se­hen wird. So kom­me ich beim Er­zäh­len mit Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty nicht drum her­um, die Auf­merk­sam­keit des Zu­schau­ers im­mer so­zu­sa­gen in die Rich­tung der Ge­schich­te zu len­ken. Ich muss al­so auf die ei­ne oder an­de­re Wei­se im­mer wie ein Rei­se­füh­rer auf ei­ner Stadt­rund­fahrt win­ken: Hier gibt es was zu se­hen, da ist die Ge­schich­te.
So ist die Idee ent­stan­den, die Ge­schich­te vor­ran­gig mit Wor­ten in Form ei­ner li­te­ra­ri­schen Le­sung zu er­zäh­len und mit­hil­fe von Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty At­mo­sphä­re und Ge­füh­le darzustellen.

Wo­von han­delt «LOS»?

Ro­man Vi­tal: «LOS» ist die Ge­schich­te ei­nes Man­nes, der al­lei­ne zu ei­ner Wan­de­rung in die Schwei­zer Ber­ge auf­bricht und in ei­nem Schnee­sturm ver­un­fallt. Sein na­hen­des En­de vor Au­gen macht er sich Ge­dan­ken über das Le­ben und den Tod. Im Kern geht es da­bei um Ver­gäng­lich­keit, ums Ab­schied­neh­men und dar­um, den Frie­den zu fin­den.
Und ge­ra­de weil die Ge­schich­te aus der Per­spek­ti­ve des To­des er­zählt wird, er­scheint das Le­ben in ei­nem an­de­rem Licht. Es wird un­schätz­bar wert­voll und re­la­ti­viert sich zu­gleich auf be­frei­en­de Weise.

Der Ti­tel, den ihr von der Er­zäh­lung von Klaus Merz über­nom­men habt, bie­tet Spiel­raum für In­ter­pre­ta­tio­nen. Was ist eu­re Lesart?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: «LOS» be­deu­tet für mich Auf­bruch. Jetzt geht’s los, jetzt kommt es dar­auf an – aber auch das Los­las­sen klingt mit an.

Ro­man Vi­tal: Für mich steckt in den drei Buch­sta­ben Schick­sal, Be­frei­ung und Akzeptanz.

Die Ge­schich­te führt den Prot­ago­nis­ten in die Ber­ge. Was be­deu­ten die Ber­ge für die Schwei­zer Identität?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Für die Schwei­zer sind die Ber­ge Mar­ken­zei­chen und Sehn­suchts­ort zu­gleich. Das Selbst­bild des Schwei­zers ist von den Ber­gen und dem Le­ben in den Ber­gen ge­prägt, ob­wohl die meis­ten Ein­woh­ner in Städ­ten im Flach­land woh­nen.
Auch «LOS« ist ge­prägt von die­ser Berg­welt. Sie ist das Ziel von Pe­ter Tha­lers Wan­de­rung und ist prä­sent in sei­nen Er­in­ne­run­gen, z.B. an die ob­li­ga­to­ri­schen Schul­aus­flü­ge in die Ber­ge – bis heu­te Pflicht­pro­gramm ei­nes je­den Schwei­zer Schü­lers – oder an «Hei­di», die welt­be­kann­te Kin­der­ge­schich­te von Jo­han­na Spy­ri oder an den Text der Schwei­zer Na­tio­nal­hym­ne, in der sich zu Be­ginn gleich ein­mal der Al­pen­firn rötet.

Ne­ben den Ber­gen spielt das Meer in «LOS» ei­ne aus­ge­präg­te Rol­le. Wie ist es da­zu gekommen?out?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Die Spur ist be­reits im Buch ge­legt und uns er­schien es wich­tig, zu den Ber­gen, dem Ort der Hand­lung, ein Ge­gen­ge­wicht zu set­zen. Wie es der Tod für das Le­ben ist.
In ei­ner Stel­le des Tex­tes er­in­nert sich Tha­ler, wie er erst beim Tau­chen im Meer die Ber­ge zu schät­zen lern­te. Erst als er die­ses Ge­gen­ge­bir­ge un­ter Was­ser sieht, wie er es nennt, wird ihm klar: «Auch der Fels ist al­so ver­wüst-lich, end­lich, Flug­sand wie er sel­ber auch», um Klaus Merz zu zitieren.

Ge­gen En­de, nach den letz­ten Wor­ten der Er­zäh­lung, er­zählt ihr so­zu­sa­gen über den Tod hin­aus. Wie ist die­se ein­drück­li­che Pas­sa­ge entstanden?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Uns war klar, dass die Ge­schich­te nicht mit den letz­ten Wor­ten der Er­zäh­lung en­den konn­te – was da­zu führ­te, dass wir ei­ne Dar­stel­lung für den Tod fin­den muss­ten. Es war uns aber auch klar, dass es da­für kei­ne vi­su­el­le Lö­sung gab. So ha­ben wir uns dar­auf kon­zen­triert, ei­nen Zu­gang über den Ton zu fin­den.
Am En­de ei­nes lan­gen Pro­zes­ses sind wir dann beim Mo­no­chord ge­lan­det. Ei­nem Klang­in­stru­ment mit meh­re­ren, auf den glei­chen Ton ge­stimm­ten Sai­ten. Wenn man mit den Fin­gern über die Sai­ten streicht, ent­steht ein Klang­tep­pich, ei­ne Ab­fol­ge von glei­chen Tö­nen, de­ren Ton­wel­len sich gra­du­ell über­la­gern und zu­fäl­li­ge Ober­tö­ne ent­ste­hen las­sen. Die­se Ur-Tö­ne wer­den ganz un­ter­schied­lich wahr­ge­nom­men: Die ei­nen hö­ren Blas­in­stru­men­te, an­de­re Ge­sän­ge, doch al­len ge­mein­sam ist ein Emp­fin­den ei­ner über­ge­ord­ne­ten, über­sinn­li­chen Har­mo­nie. Da­mit hat­ten wir ei­ne uns zu­läs­sig er­schei­nen­de und pas­sen­de Dar­stel­lungs­form für den Tod gefunden.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Ich bin im­mer noch über­rascht und auch ein we­nig stolz, dass wir in ei­nem so bild­ge­wal­ti­gen Me­di­um wie Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty fast ein­ein­halb Mi­nu­ten in ein kon­tur­lo­ses Schwarz ein­tau­chen und nur mit ei­nem Klang­in­stru­ment wei­ter­erzäh­len. Wir sind da ein Wag­nis ein­ge­gan­gen, wie so vie­le bei der Rea­li­sa­ti­on von «LOS».

Wie funk­tio­niert ein 360° Dreh und wie un­ter­schei­det er sich von ei­nem her­kömm­li­chen Film-Dreh?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Wir ha­ben mit sechs Ka­me­ras gleich­zei­tig in al­le Rich­tun­gen auf­ge­zeich­net. So ein­steht ein Bild in Ku­gel­form, ei­ne Sphä­re, und die Po­si­ti­on der Ka­me­ras ist die Po­si­ti­on, wel­che der Zu­schau­er, wenn er das VR-Set auf­setzt, im vir­tu­el­len Raum ein­nimmt.
Ein si­gni­fi­kan­ter Un­ter­schied zum Film-Dreh be­steht dar­in, dass bei ei­ner 360° Auf­nah­me al­les im Bild ist. Al­so müs­sen der Ka­me­ra­mann und das ge­sam­te Team ver­schwin­den. Bei der Auf­nah­me des Zim­mers war dies leicht zu be­werk­stel­li­gen. Ka­me­ra ab und al­le ver­las­sen den Raum. Aber beim Schnee­sturm zum Bei­spiel muss­ten wir uns mit Schau­feln in den Schnee eingraben.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Viel­leicht noch ei­ne An­ek­do­te da­zu: Ei­nen Teil der Un­ter­was­ser­auf­nah­men dreh­ten wir im Mit­tel­meer in ei­ner Bucht in Grie­chen­land. Ich plat­zier­te die Ka­me­ras tau­chen­der­wei­se auf den Mee­res­bo­den und schwamm na­tür­lich so­fort weg, um ja nicht im Bild zu sein. Als ich mich in si­che­rer Di­stanz um­dreh­te, fiel mir auf, dass ich mir nicht ge­merkt hat­te, wo ich die Ka­me­ras ge­nau ver­senkt hat­te. Von der Was­ser­ober­flä­che aus wa­ren sie nicht mehr zu er­ken­nen und so hiess es: Tau­chen und su­chen. Und plötz­lich wird ei­ne klei­ne, lau­schi­ge Bucht grös­ser als man denkt. Nach gut ei­ner Stun­de hiel­ten wir aber das wert­vol­le Stück Equip­ment wie­der in un­se­ren Händen.

Wie muss man sich den Dreh­pro­zess vor­stel­len? Wie lan­ge hat er gedauert?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Ei­gent­lich von der Idee weg bis weit in den Schnitt­raum hin­ein. Wir ha­ben im­mer wie­der Auf­nah­men ge­dreht und sie ge­ra­de auch im Zu­sam­men­spiel mit der Li­te­ra­tur an­ge­schaut. Und aus den da­bei ge­won­ne­nen Er­kennt­nis­sen her­aus ha­ben wir Sze­nen noch­mals ge­dreht, ei­nen an­de­ren Ka­me­ra­stand­ort ge­wählt oder auch ei­nen an­de­ren Dreh­ort.
Zum Bei­spiel hat­ten wir ei­ne herr­li­che Früh­lings­sze­ne ge­dreht und dach­ten, die ist per­fekt. Aber als wir grob das Ti­ming im Ab­lauf mit Text ge­schnit­ten hat­ten, schien uns die Stim­mung zu früh­lings­haft. Wir er­kann­ten, dass mehr Ver­bin­dung zum Win­ter nö­tig war. Ich hat­te dann ein Bild vor mir, wie die ers­ten Kro­kus­se durch die schmel­zen­de Schnee­de­cke bre­chen und so sind wir ein Jahr spä­ter noch­mals in die Ber­ge und dreh­ten ei­ne neue Szene.

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Be­ein­flusst hat den Dreh­pro­zess auch der Um­stand, dass wir die Auf­nah­men nicht, wie im di­gi­ta­len Zeit­al­ter ge­wohnt, vor Ort an­se­hen konn­ten. Die sechs Ein­stel­lun­gen muss­ten da­für zu­erst im Com­pu­ter zu­sam­men­ge­führt wer­den. Das ver­leiht dem Dreh­pro­zess et­was Ana­lo­ges: Der Film ist im Kas­ten, doch erst nach dem Ent­wi­ckeln, sieht man in der VR-Bril­le, wie die Auf­nah­me ge­lun­gen ist.

Was wa­ren die Her­aus­for­de­run­gen in der Post­pro­duk­ti­on? Wel­che grund­le­gen­den Fra­gen ha­ben sich im Schnitt gestellt?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Sehr zeit­in­ten­siv war das «Stit­ching», das naht­lo­se Zu­sam­men­fü­gen der Ein­stel­lun­gen zu ei­ner Sphä­re. Das ist ein kom­ple­xer Work­flow mit viel Hand­ar­beit, oft­mals Frame um Frame.
Der Schnitt in Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty un­ter­schei­det sich frap­pant vom Film­schnitt. Da VR kein pro­ji­zier­tes, son­dern ei­ne Art phy­si­sches Bil­d­er­leb­nis ist, ist die Auf­fas­sung von Raum und Zeit ei­ne völ­lig an­de­re. Sie ist viel nä­her an un­se­rer rea­len Wahr­neh­mung.
Im Film­schnitt sind dem Spiel mit Raum und Zeit kaum Gren­zen ge­setzt. Über ei­nen har­ten Schnitt kann ich pro­blem­los von Pa­ris nach Lon­don sprin­gen oder 20 Jah­re in die Ver­gan­gen­heit. Das ist in Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty völ­lig an­ders, da hier nicht von Bild auf Bild ge­schnit­ten wird, son­dern von Raum zu Raum.
Das stellt ge­ra­de im Sze­nen­wech­sel ei­ne be­son­de­re Her­aus­for­de­rung dar. Wie brin­ge ich den Zu­schau­er, der sich un­ter Was­ser be­fin­det, mit­ten in ei­nen Schnee­sturm, oh­ne dass er aus dem Er­leb­nis her­aus­ge­ris­sen wird? Dass Raum und Zeit für ihn wei­ter plau­si­bel er­schei­nen? Um dies zu er­rei­chen, ha­ben wir aus­schliess­lich mit über­lan­gen, trans­for­mie­ren­den Über­blen­dun­gen und ei­nem aus­ge­klü­gel­ten Sound­de­sign gearbeitet.

Wir ha­ben ja schon ein we­nig über die ein­ge­setz­te Mu­sik ge­re­det – aus­schliess­lich Klang­in­stru­men­te. Sie sind aber nur ein Teil des ge­sam­ten Sounddesigns?

San­dro Zol­lin­ger: Das Sound­de­sign ist im­mens wich­tig, da­mit das Ein­tau­chen in die vir­tu­el­le Welt als re­al wahr­ge­nom­men wird. Mit Tho­mas Gas­s­mann konn­ten wir ei­nen her­aus­ra­gen­den Sound­de­si­gner ge­win­nen, der gros­se Er­fah­run­gen aus dem Be­reich VR-Ton mit­brach­te.
Der Pro­zess zum end­gül­ti­gen Sound­de­sign lief dann so, dass wir erst­mal Ideen rein­ge­packt und dann fort­lau­fend aus­ge­dünnt ha­ben – ganz nach der Ma­xi­me: we­ni­ger ist mehr.
Und für die Auf­nah­me der Le­sung – auf Deutsch mit der Stim­me von Klaus Merz – war es uns wich­tig, ei­ne gleich­blei­ben­de Prä­senz zu er­rei­chen, im­mer das Ge­fühl zu ver­mit­teln, dass aus ei­nem Buch vor­ge­le­sen wird.

Wie geht es jetzt für Euch weiter?

Ro­man Vi­tal: Im Ja­nu­ar 2020 dür­fen wir mit «LOS» un­se­re Welt­pre­mie­re am re­nom­mier­ten Sundance Film­fes­ti­val be­strei­ten und für da­nach pla­nen wir be­reits ei­ne Tour­nee, die LOS ne­ben wei­te­ren Film­fes­ti­vals auch an Li­te­ra­tur­fes­ti­vals, Kunst­mu­se­en oder Schu­len brin­gen wird.
Aus­ser­dem sind wir in der Ent­wick­lung ei­nes Ki­no-Do­ku­men­tar­films über die Su­che nach der Wahr­heit und spie­len auch schon mit dem Ge­dan­ken, ei­ne wei­te­re li­te­ra­ri­sche Vor­la­ge mit Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty zu verbinden. 


AN­MER­KUN­GEN
Klaus Merz

Das au­dio­vi­su­el­le Neu­land von San­dro Zol­lin­ger und Ro­man Vi­tal be­tre­tend, schla­gen mich be­son­ders je­ne Film­bil­der in Bann, die mein ei­ge­nes Buch­sta­ben- und Ima­gi­na­ti­ons­ge­häu­se weiten:

So zieht mich die Wol­ken­spi­ra­le am An­fang von Tha­lers „Gang ins Ge­birg“ un­will­kür­lich in die Tie­fe der Zeit, zu den le­gen­dä­ren Ur­ne­beln hin­ab. Oder ich tre­te in Hen­ri de Tou­lou­se-Lautrecs spä­tes Ge­mäl­de „Deux che­va­liers en ar­mu­re“ fast leib­haf­tig ein, das Ge­sche­hen um­gibt mich, ich rü­cke sel­ber vor, mit den Reitenden.

Zum Schluss dann noch das zar­te Vi­brie­ren der Kro­kus­se im auf­kom­men­den Früh­lings­wind, der die kal­ten Res­te des Schnees lang­sam zum Schmel­zen bringt. Neu­es Le­ben. Und ein wei­te­rer gül­ti­ger Schritt über mei­ne li­te­ra­ri­sche Vor­ga­be hinaus.


AN­MER­KUN­GEN
Mon­te­zu­ma Film

«LOS» ver­bin­det ge­konnt Li­te­ra­tur und Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty und setzt sich ein­drück­lich mit ei­nem The­ma aus­ein­an­der, das uns al­le be­trifft. Die atem­be­rau­ben­de Le­se­rei­se regt die Zu­schau­er an, über die Ver­gäng­lich­keit, über das Le­ben und den Tod zu sin­nie­ren und be­rührt auf wun­der­sa­me Weise.

Von Be­ginn an wa­ren wir über­zeugt vom Vor­ha­ben, mit Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty ei­nen mo­der­nen Zu­gang zur Li­te­ra­tur zu schaf­fen. Und gleich­zei­tig ei­ne neu­ar­ti­ge Form des Er­zäh­lens mit Vir­tu­al Rea­li­ty zu ent­wi­ckeln, die nicht pri­mär auf den Ef­fekt setzt, son­dern den Ef­fekt ein­setzt, um ei­ne tief­sin­ni­ge Ge­schich­te zu erzählen.

Ei­ne be­son­de­re Qua­li­tät für das Pu­bli­kum liegt da­bei im Um­stand, dass al­le zwar der glei­chen Ge­schich­te fol­gen, doch nicht das Glei­che se­hen und emp­fin­den, was im Nach­hin­ein zu an­ge­reg­ten Un­ter­hal­tun­gen führt. Ge­nau das, was wir mit al­len un­se­ren Pro­duk­tio­nen er­rei­chen möchten.

«LOS» hat das Po­ten­ti­al ein ge­gen­sätz­li­ches und viel­schich­ti­ges Pu­bli­kum an­zu­spre­chen: Di­gi­tal Na­ti­ves und Le­se­rat­ten, Bü­cher­muf­fel und VR Neu­ling vom Schü­ler bis zum Rentner.

Das Zeit­lo­se des The­mas und die Fas­zi­na­ti­on ei­nes neu­en Me­di­ums ver­spre­chen ei­ne lang­fris­ti­ge und viel­sei­ti­ge Aus­wer­tung über ver­schie­de­ne Ka­nä­le. (Film‑, VR- und Li­te­ra­tur­fes­ti­val, Kunst­mu­se­en und ‑gal­le­rien, Kul­tur­ver­an­stal­tun­gen, Schu­len und VR-Wan­der­ki­no, etc.)